top of page

Idea's moving forward from the Crit

Earlier in the process, my lecturer suggested that I look into the film "Rear Window" by Alfred Hitchcock. The film, in a nutshell, is about a man that is crippled that see's into the lives of his neighbours via his rear window. After watching the film and looking into the way in which the set was designed it gave me a thought, that I could design the FortLane Carpark almost like a doll house. Cinema comes into play through the way at which I create openings and viewing spaces through the facade for the outdoor to look in and the interior spaces to look out. The architecture it self becomes the cinema, becoming a multiplex of spaces that architecture guides the viewer through. The sweeping ramps of the carpark will work as modes of moving vertically through the space. essentially this will put the building on show and the actors are the occupants of the building.

bottom of page